COVER RELEASE! “The Never List” by Koethi Zan

This is something a little different that we thought was cool to add to the blog site.  Author Koethi Zan gave us her upcoming book cover “The Never List” so readers would have a little sneak preview into her newest book. So without further delay, here you go:


The Never List cover


Author Bio

     When Koethi Zan was born in the sleepy farming town of Opp, Alabama, the “City of Opportunity,” her mother was Valedictorian of the local public high school and her father the star of its football team.  Her parents named her after the homecoming queen of Lurleen B. Wallace Junior College, perhaps hopeful that some of that glory would rub off on her.

But Koethi would never be a homecoming queen.  In fact, she spent most of her youth in her room, reading, listening to Morrissey, and avoiding everything connected to high school football—not an easy task in those parts.

After graduation, Koethi put herself through Birmingham-Southern College with scholarships and a small “cow fund” courtesy of Molly, the Charolais heifer she’d received as her third birthday present.  She used the money wisely, travelling to New Orleans on the weekends to hit the club scene, almost always in silver-sequined costume, surrounded by transvestites, Goth kids and her gay male entourage.  Perhaps, in some roundabout way, she had fulfilled her homecoming queen destiny after all.

Then, in what may have been a misguided fit of pique, Koethi threw away her all-black daywear and her thrift-store evening gowns, and went to YaleLawSchool, with some vague idea of becoming a film producer.  Afterwards, however, she unexpectedly found herself twenty-eight stories up in the Manhattan offices of Davis Polk & Wardwell, a prestigious white shoe law firm that represented mostly investment banks.  She regularly pulled all-nighters working on secured financings and revolving credit facilities.  She tended to wear demure black pantsuits, with her hair up.

It didn’t take her long to realize corporate life wasn’t for her, and Koethi spent the next fifteen years practicing entertainment law both in private practice (at Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison and, later, Schreck Rose & Dapello) and in-house business and legal affairs positions (for the film producer, Ed Pressman, and, most recently, at MTV), with a slight detour along the way to study cinema at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts.

As an entertainment lawyer, Koethi attended glamorous premieres and openings, international film festivals and celebrity-filled parties.  She dealt with gritty production issues as varied as suicide threats, drug overdoses and sex-tape allegations.  She warred with Hollywood agents and befriended reality stars.

Then, while Senior Vice President & Deputy General Counsel at MTV, she decided to fulfill a lifelong dream on the side, and in the early mornings she wrote a crime novel, The Never List.

Now, coming full circle in a way, Koethi, her husband, Stephen Metcalf, and their two daughters, live in an old farmhouse in a rural community in upstate New York.  Her husband occasionally watches a football game on television.  But her daughters have never even heard of homecoming queens.

Koethi Pieter M van Hattem photo credit: Pieter M van Hattem



Throat-clutching from the outset! THE NEVER LIST stands as a sterling example of psychological thriller writing at its best. Cancel appointments and give up on sleep. It’s that kind of book.”

Jeffery Deaver

“A novel with powerful and poignant psychological insights.  Zan’s razor-sharp debut combines the very best of page-turning suspense with classic head-game thrills and chills.  Not to be missed.”

Lisa Gardner


THE NEVER LIST is a perfect entertainment. Thrilling, super smart, witty, and just about the most distracting thing in my recent life. I’ve stayed up past my bedtime, missed whole subway stops, left children at the playground. First readers will have to know what happens, and then they’ll be awed by the flair with which Koethi Zan makes it happen.  This novel deserves all the success it is sure to have.”

Darin Strauss

“A nonstop thriller with heart-wrenching twists.”

Jed Rubenfeld

ABOUT THE BOOK: For years, Sarah Farber and her best friend, Jennifer, kept what they called “The Never List”: a list of actions to be avoided, for safety’s sake, at all costs.  Then, the unthinkable happens.  They ignore their best instincts and are lured into a cab by a driver they don’t know.   For the next three years they are held captive in a cellar with two other girls in a dungeon-like cellar by a connoisseur of sadism.

Ten years later, at thirty-one, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life, unable to come to grips with the fact that her best friend didn’t make it out of the cellar. Now, her abductor is up for parole and Sarah finds that she can no longer ignore the twisted letters he has been sending her from jail.  Finally, Sarah decides to confron her phobias—and the other survivors, who hold their own grudges against her.  When she goes on a cross-country chase that takes her into the world of BDSM, secret cults, and the arcane study of torture, she begins unraveling a mystery more horrifying than even she could have imagined.

A shocking, blazingly fast read, Koethi Zan’s debut is a must for fans of Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and S.J. Watson.


Be the first to comment on "COVER RELEASE! “The Never List” by Koethi Zan"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.